Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I am new to Toyota trucks and have been told by several people, including mechanics, that Toyota trucks are the best for the buck. My question is if you had $4000 and wanted to get the most reliable truck, 4x4 and hopefully extendend cab, which model and year would you get? I plan on using it for weekend camp trips, fun in the mud, mild to moderate trail riding, and skiing.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
'20 gray crewcab 4x4; sold '09 access cab 4x4, '94 T100 4x4, '85 4x4, '82 2x4 pickup
517 Posts
If I were in your shoes, I'd watch the classified ads and truck trader (or whatever you have in your area). If you don't get in too big a hurry, you will learn what is out there and get a good idea of reasonable prices. When you talk used trucks, especially older ones, the condition can range all over the spectrum. I agree that Toyota makes the most reliable truck out there, but I wouldn't turn down a good buy on some of the other makes if I found one in good condition. It might pay to check out all the truck forums you can find and see what kinds of problems some makes and years have. BTW, if reliability is a major concern, I would avoid anything that has been modified. Good luck.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah I'm on a few forums asking questions. Are there any known issues with the Toyota 4x4 that I should look for when looking at one?

Thanks again,

·
Registered
38 Posts