Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I just this month took delivery of a nice 2011 Camry LE, low miles, very good condition. This is my first Camry, and I'm just starting to learn about it ...

The headlights on this car seem a bit weak. My friend's 2011 XLE has totally different looking lights that are much brighter. What options are there to improve my car's light output? Aftermarket light assemblies? Brighter bulbs? An option from the Toyota parts bin that will helpful? Can the XLE lights be installed on the LE?

I'm in the East Bay of the San Francisco Bay Area. Any recommendations for a truly top notch Camry tech?

Thanks,

Shel

·
Registered
388 Posts
Also, and not that this will be what causes the entire difference, but what is the condition of your headlight covers versus his. If yours are yellowed and/or clouded while his are clear that can make a huge difference in the amount of light that gets thrown on the road ahead of you and how it's thrown.

Even slightly clouded lenses (whether scratches or plastic degrading on the exposed surface) turns them into a light diffuser that scatters light in all directions, and "softens" it, rather than letting it be aimed as the designers intended.

For myself, I absolutely despise, with a burning passion, HID headlights. And there are jurisdictions that have made same illegal as they tend to blind oncoming motorists (even on low beam). Provided you have clear plastic lenses on the front of the car, Sylvania's Silverstar series of headlights do tend to give a noticeable bump in light output without requiring anything beyond changing bulbs.

Reactions: Vangm25

·
Registered
08 Toyota Camry 2AZ-FE R9K Tuned
8,890 Posts