Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to racing as in learning everything I can and getting serious. I have alittle experince in my friends 3000 gt vr-4 that we race alot. So Im not completely retarded to the racing. Been watching auto cross and Initial D :p Fell in love with the video "Jens supra" Drifts a 1000 hp supra. I was hooked. Then I saw a 600 hp Toyota corolla Ae86 Trueno. I knew drifting was what I wanted to learn. Im looking for info on what kinda car would be good for a newb drifter on a 4000 dollar budget? If I could get some feed back. That would be great.

·
Registered
419 Posts
Any links/info on that 600 hp corolla? I've never heard of it before and would like to read about it.

Concerning the car, get an s13. Definately newer than an ae86 and cheaper.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yeah... fast. The s13 eh? Im coming up with all kinds of different looking stuff. :p ill check it out. thanks.

·
5M-GE
2,901 Posts
2wickedtoyz said:
1st gen rx7 they don't sell for more than 12oousd and are really light and they can be upgraded very easily:thumbup:
RX7 = Apex seals :thumbdown

I'll agree on the S13. But everybody and their mother-in-law's fuck buddy have one. You won't be "unique", but you'll have a damn easy time upgrading (relative to other cars, of course) thanks to the popularity.

Though you have experience, a 3000GT VR-4 isn't ideal to drift with... it's DAMN HEAVY. But doable. If you've drifted/raced with this, you should be able to pick up drifting much better once you get into a lighter car.

·
400whp club here I come!!
HT MR2 Turbo
3,546 Posts
pjohnson said:
Yeah... fast. The s13 eh? Im coming up with all kinds of different looking stuff. :p ill check it out. thanks.
Try looking for Nissan 240sx :p:. People and their fancy verbiage will just confuse you.

·
There is no substitute.
8,027 Posts
pjohnson said: