Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
'yota pilot
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I just bought a 1993 Pickup w/ the 22re 4 cylinder. It is a black regular cab. I've been looking for one for a long time and finally found one for a good deal. Had it shipped from Topeka, KS to Daytona Beach. I am a pilot and I'm on the road most of the year and I just got home tonight to see it for the first time. I'm happy overall with it and after a few months of giving it my special TLC.

I have 2 issues right off though and if anyone could chime in I would appreciate it. For one, when it is warmed up it seems to idle very low to the point where it wants to die but doesn't, it barely stays alive. Second, the dealer I bought it from replaced the gauges because some of them didn't work (???). Anyway I think the gauges came out of a V6 car because the RPM read out doesn't climb hardly over 2k RPM when I know and can hear that it is much higher. Is there any setting or tweak to get the RPM to read correctly?

I'm sure I will be posting here from time to time to share and ask advice from those who know these trucks well. I am starting the journey to get to know my new truck! As of right now, I know next to nothing about it.

Thanks,

Patrick

·
yota bomber
815 Posts
im unfamiliar with the 22s but look into secondary air injection. or vac leaks at the manifold. sounds like its trying to compensate for lack of air . if not go to your spark

·
Registered
1,756 Posts
First of all, welcome to the forum :welcome: I'm sure you'll enjoy your new truck. What do you fly?