Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok first of all i'm new here. I'm also new to the import croud. My car up until a few days ago was a 95 Chevy Monte Carlo. Fun car and i have read alot into them over the year i had it on the street. the problem is the tranny blew and it's a rare one to find. so the tranny would cost more than the car is worth. I was looking into driving my grandfathers car while it was in the shop, but now that i found out what it's gonna cost me to fix the monte i've decided it's time to move on for now.

Well my grandfathers car is an 87 Corolla GTS. It's blue on blue cloth, 5 speed. personaly i'm a domestic car guy, but i've always loved the way just sitting in this car feels. I don't know what it is but these little japanese cars just seem to feel more comfortable driving to me. a big plus is the 5 speed. ever since i started driving i wanted a stick but never got the oppurtunity, so i'm jumping all over it now.

before i can get her on the street i've got a few things i need to fix. the two biggies being the breaks and the fuel delivery system. my grandfather has had alot of fun with this car but due to my grandmother having a stroke last year he now has grown too tired to work on it anymore, and couldn't drive it very much anyway. i believe the problem with the brakes is simply a leaky master cylinder. He bought one to put on it and just never was able to get it on. that should solve the brake issue. the next problem is the fuel. he believes it is a problem with the pump.

now for the questions. a tech at work told me he believes they have an access panel under the back seat. is this true, and if so how would i go about testing and possibly replacing the pump, as this is the first fuel pump i've tackled.
Seeing as how i'm not experienced with toyotas or imports in general. what should i know about the car. Is this the ae86.