Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2011 Toyota Corolla LE

I lost power to my radio/clock/cigarette lighter last week and have been trying to find the issue. None of the small fuses are broken either under the hood or under the drivers side. However, there is no power running to the "CIG" fuse and a couple others surrounding it whether the car is on or not. I did have issues for many years with the radio randomly turning off if i pressed a preset radio channel or only turning on if i pressed the power button multiple times when it is hot outside. Thinking this is all relevant to whats happened but I cannot figure out what the issue is. I am really new to doing anything electrical on my car but am a do it myselfer if I can. Maybe its a short somewhere? I was going to try replacing the cigarette lighter but dont know if that would help since there is no power running to the fuse. Any advice would be appreciated! Where do I go from here? Thanks!

·
Administrator
2006 Corolla XRS
9,517 Posts
Buy fuses and replace them.

There should be separate circuits for the power outlet and the radio/clock. Unless they separated the clock circuit. They might look fine, but if you have a digital multimeter, you can verify that it's good or not.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I replaced the cig fuse, the dome fuse, and the radio No 1 fuse, which looked to be the ones that may be affected after I did some research. I checked for power all across them with an automotive circuit tester. The cig fuse and a few around it have no power running to them still. I also should mention they dont fully seat as well as all other fuses no matter how hard I push them in.

·
Administrator
2006 Corolla XRS
9,517 Posts
Sounds like you have a short somewhere in those circuits.

But, the power outlet should have power in both acc and off.