Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok this is my idea....and please no jokes I am a Noob so be gentle....

Since I am and have never really been a fan of Turbos or Superchargers, I was planning on turning my nice new 89 GTS into an All-Engine monster without a turbo or S/C. I was wondering if anyone here had tried this before and what kind of HP am I looking at making. Don't hafta be specific just a ballpark idea is cool. Say with all the normal mods but no turbo or S/C, a nice radically aggressive cam setup, fuel injection upgrade, intake, headers, and exhaust, y'know all the normal stuff....My bro and I were trying to figure it out last night and we couldn't really find any accurate numbers to go off of....We aren't even sure how much HP this thing has to start with....120? 130?? 140!?!? Bueller.....Bueller.....Bueller......

Thanks

Mark

:barf::rice:

·
Guitars and Cars
2001 Corolla S
3,350 Posts
I don't know if your year has the high comp or low comp engine.

The high comp claims 130 Fly Wheel HP stock. The low comp has I belive 120HP or so. The seem to dyno around 90-110 Wheel Horsepower depending on the year and condition.

I have heard 4a-ges with full bolt-ons and cams can run very nice and I suspect 150 whp would be reasonable depending on the level of tune.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
Mine is the Hi comp, that much I do know.....As far as tune level we plan on being VERY aggressive....

And MRQturbo, I use the term monster loosely....I was just trying to get my point across on what I wanna do. And you can get power from any engine even this, it may not be much but it'll still be power....I don't want a racecar right outta the box, I wanna build to that. I don't have the financial backing to go all out on a turbo setup. So I'm gonna start small and work up to it if I feel so inclined. But as I said, I dont like turbos....