Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up my 1998 Toyota Corolla for next to nothing because the previous owners had given up with the weekly oil consumption and refilling of the crankcase. I am a certified mechanic and a chemical/mechanical engineer. I am not claiming this method will work for everyone’s situation, just that this is how I was able to solve my oil burning issue. I no longer dump quarts of oil in, maybe a little here and there between oil changes.

This project was handled in two parts. The first removing the build up on the drain back piston orifices and also maintaining a nominal engine temperature to prevent future build up from occurring.

First thing I did was fill the fuel tank full and add a bottle of Berryman B-12 Chemtool to the tank of fuel. I drove the car normally for half a tank of fuel.

For the sake of abbreviation, I will just refer to this as B12. B12 contains a mixture of very strong solvents with no fillers like kerosene found in most products. It also contains many of the ingredients found in GM’s secret Northstar upper cylinder carbon remover. B12 can be found at most auto parts stores or at Walmart for under four dollars. So buying several bottles of it isn’t going to break the bank.

Next thing I did was to remove all of the spark plugs and divide half of a bottle of B12 to 4 spark plug holes and wait over night. I turned the engine over one revolution and repeated the process for a second over night soaking. I then poured a whole bottle in all four spark plug holes and allowed it to sit for two hours.

After two hours, I lowered the hood and cranked the engine over for several minutes to allow any excess dissolved carbon to come out the spark plug holes. I know this is the lazy method, as vacuuming the holes with the proper tools would have been better.