Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went to change my spark plugs today and noticed in two of the wells there was some oil in them. i also noticed on all of the spark plugs there was a buildup of a white powder like substance should i be worried? are there some seals to replace?

·
Read lots, post little
2001 SXV20R Touring
71 Posts
not good buddy, im a bit of a newbie, but even in a good scenario, unless you recently spilt some oil in there yourself (unlikely lol) you are probably looking at new piston rings at the very least... Someone with a bit more wisdom got anything to say?

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
is there not a rubber gasket at the top where the large nuts hold the valve cover on? i dont think im burning oil, there is no smoke coming out of the tailpipe.

·
Read lots, post little
2001 SXV20R Touring
71 Posts
wait, are you saying the oil is sitting on top of the spark plugs themselves?

·
Proud Camry owner.
1993 Toyota Camry
189 Posts
It's not a huge problem. Mine does it too in one of the wells. Doesn't cause any problems right now.

·
Registered
595 Posts
I just had that problem recently in one of the wells. Turns out the valve cover nuts wasn't properly torqued down to specs.

·
TN Pussy Man
Camry
13,302 Posts
if there is white build up, it means that your motor's running hot (lean)

·
1998 T100 SR5 2WD
14,672 Posts
Part number fer the spark plug tube seals is 90480-30025. You'll need 4 of them.

From ToyotaPartSales.com...

Item Number MSRP Core Price Price
9048030025 $4.37 $0.00 $3.16

GROMMET

·
92 Camry 5S-FE
92 Camry 5S-FE
485 Posts