Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
the car belongs to my wife's sister. it is a 1992 toyota tercel....i believe it is called gear oil. it leaks inside the car between the gas pedal and the brake pedal is at. It only leaks if you drive the car around for a while but doesn't if you just leave the car on. it smells like motor oil. the little thing that goes into the transmission that is located behind the engine on top of the transmission as in the picture. not sure what it is called but i just heard my dad's boss (works at a transmission shop) call it a bullet. i have replaced the o ring that goes around it and the o ring that is inside and it is still leaking. i am just a beginner at this so i do apologize for anything i have said that is wrong, but Could anyone give me an idea of what the problem is?

·
TN's ex-Local Buddhahead
1992 Toyota Paseo
389 Posts
Wow, that's unpleasant... sorry to hear that, bud...

I'm going to say with the info presented so far, that gear oil is working up through a worn speedo drive cable, and leaking behind the gauges, all the symptoms fit. Replace the speedo cable (lucky for you, some recent posts show good info on just how to do that), and see if the problem recurs. Remember, that there maybe be residual oil from the first failure, so a drip isn't necessarily a no-go on the cable.

I'm not aware of any other component that could be a route for oil into the passenger compartment. Coolant, sure, but not oil. Luckily, the cables are pretty cheap, and the work to swap one is minor in the big picture.

·
Premium Member
'91 MR2 Turbo
19,831 Posts
Are you sure it's not brake fluid?
Doesn't seem likely that trans fluid would work it's way all the UP the speedo cable into the cabin. Brake fluid could be leaking from the backside of the master cyliner and down the pedal(or even the clutch pedal if it's actually the clutch master ifit a manual trans).
Just a thought.

·