Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
I'm a NOOB at <3
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Fellow Toyota drivers....:D

Well I have been changing my oil every 3k miles regularly....and yesturday when I did the oil change I noticed that when I was driving my oil light ( the little lamp thingy with the drip, red color) came on. And it was strange cause I just changed the oil and I never had any problems like this. I have a V6 1MZ-FE engine on my 1997 Camry. The odd part is that it constantly comes on and off as I rev the engine above 1k rpms...when it's a little below that the light comes on and when I press the gas it goes away primarly above 1k. I'm thinking it could be oil pressure dropping. Does this error read any other oil levels besides the oil in engine?

·
Registered
00 Camry 5sfe, 91 Je
38 Posts
Maybe a week oil pump or it could be the sludge issue,(not that I think its a big issue).
but that sounds like a weak oil pump the more rpms will make more pressure and turn the light off, it also could be the sending unit for the oil pressure light. Have the oil pressure checked before you drive it and blow the motor up.

·
I'm a NOOB at <3
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Also on the side note I did notice like the old oil that I just changed smelled a little like gas it had an achohol smell to it...could it be a bad injector?

·
I'm a NOOB at <3
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
vwsteve said:
Maybe a week oil pump or it could be the sludge issue,(not that I think its a big issue).
but that sounds like a weak oil pump the more rpms will make more pressure and turn the light off, it also could be the sending unit for the oil pressure light. Have the oil pressure checked before you drive it and blow the motor up.
Thanks! :D

·
Registered
2002 4Runner
152 Posts