Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all! I'm new to Toyotas and have had a Tacoma since May. I've heard a couple people complain about paint chips and sand blasting and have noticed the paint on mine is chipping off at an alarming rate. What's the deal? Is Toyota doing anything about this? Is it common to certain colors? Mine is the Speedway Blue. Any help, advice is appreciated.

Plan to visit often as there seems to be lots of knowledgeable owners here.

·
Registered
848 Posts
Toyota is adding more vinyl, and plastic guards to the 06's, but as far as taking care of the 05 owners, some people have had thier dealers repaint the affected areas, but Toyota itself doesn't seem to be doing anthing about the existing problems. Yes it is common to certain colors, the most prominent being Speedway Blue. My best advice, get yourself some running boards, or tubesteps, if you don't already have them (running boards offer better protection). And if you really want to get crazy, get yourself some 3M clear mask (they sell it in rolls). BTW Welcome to the Nation.

·
Car Dealers Suck !
651 Posts
Matt612 said:
Hey all! I'm new to Toyotas and have had a Tacoma since May. I've heard a couple people complain about paint chips and sand blasting and have noticed the paint on mine is chipping off at an alarming rate. What's the deal? Is Toyota doing anything about this? Is it common to certain colors? Mine is the Speedway Blue. Any help, advice is appreciated.

Plan to visit often as there seems to be lots of knowledgeable owners here.
Tell us more about your paint chipping . Where is it chipping ? When did you notice it ? Driving in sand or clean roads ? the more you can give us the better .

N

·
0 Posts
Fitz235 said: