Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone upgraded the performance capabilities of their HL? I have a 13 Limited AWD, and the thing has some punch to it. But I was hoping to add more. Anyone have ideas?

·
Registered
103 Posts
There wont be much in the way of performance. Remove the screen in the air filter box, free up flow in the catback exhaust, lighter wheels and tires. Maybe a small change in tire diameter to improve final gear ratio (this may affect shift points and speedometer if changed too much).

Poly bushings if they make them(universal measurement?) and lowering springs for handling.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, Camry. I am pretty new to the inner-workings of cars, so I'm going to have to Google everyone of those terms, but I look forward to learning about it. Have you done any of that to your HL?

·
Registered
103 Posts
I have taken the screen out of the airbox and I am considering a catback exhaust. I am a little nervous on pulling the trigger on it, not many people have modified exhausts on Highlanders. It is my "familiy" car, I dont want it to sound annoying or loud, just some nice noise when passing some idiot who cant drive. Was thinking of a 5x8 Magnaflow muffler, post cat delete, with the stock tailpipe with resonator. I have had some kind of custom exhaust on every car I have owned except my first(totaled).

·
Resident Nutcase
'08 Highlander Limtd
12,155 Posts
Add stickers, +5hp each.

Beyond that, aftermarket support for the HL is near zero. Opening up airflow in and out (high flow filter + pass through muffler) can help marginally. I have a K&N drop in and a borla muffler, its a little more responsive, but nothing ground breaking.

·
☻Black Member
1,427 Posts
Removing FEDERAL emissions equipment is a FEDERAL CRIME.
We do not allow the discussion of illegal actions on these forums...