Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
quick note: I drive for a living and really need the car right now and im going crazy!

For the last few days my starter has barely been starting the car, Tested the alternator and it was fine so I went ahead and replaced the battery as it was old anyway As i was about to screw in the bracket the holds the battery in a neighbor walked up and started talking to me.... inevitably I touched the bracket to the positive terminal and it arced pretty badly. I got into the car after installing the battery and the car started with the same symptoms as before and I turned it off and tried to start it again and it wont start... replaced the starter and the starter relay after that and it will still not start. Checked all fuses under the hood for continuity with my tester and they're all fine I am at my wits end.

Thank you so much for any ideas or suggestions, I really need to get this car going again!

·
Various Toyotas
4,788 Posts
Do you still have the dash lights, radio, etc working when you have the key in the on position?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yes everything comes on and works as usual when I turn the ignition

·
Various Toyotas
4,788 Posts
Since you have power, then I don't think it would be the alternator fuse, which I think is a 100 amp fuse that is bolted in place. I think this fuse allows power to the dash, but I'm not quite sure. Did you test this fuse with the others? This is it below with the yellow arrow:

To replace that fuse you have to partially remove the fuse box. I think it clips in place, but it might also have a bolt or two on the ends holding it down. Access the fuse bolts from underneath the fuse box. You'll need 8mm and/or 10mm to remove those bolts holding the fuse in place.