Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
01 S2K, 96 JDM SiR-G
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am a new owner of a 93 Corolla DX. I have been looking for a new daily since Integras disappear like crazy in my city. I have been tuning Hondas for more than 10 years, but haven't seen too much on the Toyota side besides Supra's and SC300/400s. What are some possibilites with the 7th Gen Corolla? I know there are some JDM parts for the Corolla but do not know where to start. What would you start with first? This will be my daily and I don't want to go with boost or NOS. Thanks for any future advice. I just want a clean, comfortable, understated, good performing Corolla.

·
Registered
398 Posts
run away these are not performance cars. Strictly gas sippers. Unreliable junkers!

·
Registered
01 S2K, 96 JDM SiR-G
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Too late. I just picked it up from the local Toyota dealer for $1200.00, high miles, rare 5-speed, some rust, worn suspension.

THe retired daily:

·
Official TN Toaster
2000 Celica GT-S
623 Posts
The Corolla can tuned to your liking, it's just more challenging due to the relative unpopularity of the car among tuners. If you're looking for a true performance Corolla, put a 20 valve 4AGE (JDM only) in it, but the standard Corolla can be nice too, but like I said, it's more of a challenge than a Honda. But trust me, they're nice reliable cars no matter what you do to them.

·
TIEyota fighter ace
AE101, TE72
1,942 Posts
I'd recommend the 4AGZE, already built for forced induction. Pair it with a close-ratio six-speed from the 20Vs, although they can be a little fragile, drop out the supercharger and put in a T25 and you're looking at something that (with appropriate chassis and suspension mods) can be made to embarass a LOT of folks.

·
Registered
398 Posts
Not bad get some good pics in the day!