Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anybody have information about how to use those outlets with normal electronic devices,
e.g. a laptop? The manual doesn't say anything about adapters...
I would appreciate any advice!

Thanks

·
Registered
8 Posts
rao-d-rao said:
Does anybody have information about how to use those outlets with normal electronic devices,
e.g. a laptop? The manual doesn't say anything about adapters...
I would appreciate any advice!
Thanks
If you're talking about the 12 volt accessory outlets then go to any Radio Shack or other electronics store and get a DC-to-AC inverter. It plugs into the 12 volt outlets and converts it to 120V that you can then plug a laptop or anything else into (as long as it doesn't draw too much current, like a microwave oven!)

-Bruce

·
Registered
08 Highlander Ltd
2 Posts
i have a question along the lines of this:

i wanna start off by saying that i'm a total car noob.

okay, i wanted to instal a power inverter but have it directly connected to my car battery instead of using the lighter plugs. i know hybrids have different batteries. i can't connect it to the hybrid battery, can i? what are the recommendations if i wanna have a few outlets that are connected directly to a battery?

i have a 2008 HiHy limited

·
Registered
19 Posts
There is a "normal" 12v battery, but it's much smaller than a normal car uses, since it is not used to start the ICE. It's mainly used to run accessories when the vehicle is "OFF" (mode 1).

It's also used to filter the 288-to-14volt inverter, which runs all LOW power accessories... lights, radio, wipers, cig. lighters, ECU, etc.

The power steering, aircon, etc. are high voltage electric powered from the traction battery (288v).

There are (apparently) 2 accessory outlet fuses, both 15 Amp (see owners manual, or Google).