Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
'93 2WD Pickup
574 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's the deal. I've got a 1993 2WD Pickup with a 22RE. I've been to LCE's website and seen the K&N filter, but think charging a $100+ for that plastic bracket is bullsh*t. What I would really like to do, is swap the location of my battery and the MAF, so I can remove a large portion of the intake plumbing. Has anyone done this?

Secondly, I'm curious as to weather there is larger, less restrictive MAF I can bolt up.

I'm a noob to the site, so any tips would be great appreceated.

·
Official Saipan Member
Hilux
1,019 Posts
Yeah ive done it before. Your gonna need a filter changer beacuse the stock airbox wont clear the hood. your gonna need new battery cables like 6-7 feet. One problem u may face is extending the maf wire to the other side. What i did was cut the sleeveing and take the wires out then seal that bad boy back up again. From what ive read/heard old supra MAFs bolt up i think 82 im not too sure. Good luck though

·
Registered
'93 2WD Pickup
574 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
rogerman said:
Yeah ive done it before. Your gonna need a filter changer beacuse the stock airbox wont clear the hood. your gonna need new battery cables like 6-7 feet. One problem u may face is extending the maf wire to the other side. What i did was cut the sleeveing and take the wires out then seal that bad boy back up again. From what ive read/heard old supra MAFs bolt up i think 82 im not too sure. Good luck though
Hmmm, swapping to a supra MAF sounds good. I checked online, and I can't find a picture of a MK2 Engine bay that shows it bolted up. Do you know if it uses an airbox or a cone?

As far as re-securing the MAF and Battery to the body, did you have any problems?

·
Official Saipan Member
Hilux
1,019 Posts