Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie here to both this forum and Tacomas. A quick background... I have a 2006 Tacoma on special order. It is a 4x2 with 4 cylinder automatic. I'm also getting the SR5 package, 16" wheel upgrade, and towing hitch (Class II). This will be my daily commuter truck and occasional hauler (like dirtbikes) on weekends.

Now for my questions... since it has been on order for a few months, I started second-guessing myself on not getting the VSC option. I would appreciate it if you would provide me any feedback about the VSC. For those of you with a similar truck to mine, do you have any issues driving in snow or rain without the VSC? If you have the VSC, does it interfere with your driving too much? I heard some complaints about it engaging at inappropriate times like trying to merge and robbing power/causing hesistation. Also, on the automatic transmission, the VSC option also includes the hill start assist control. I heard this engaging at inappropriate times like trying to go in your driveway. Why is hill assist even on automatics? I would think it should be manuals only.

Sorry for all of the questions. I think the VSC would be a nice feature to have, especially the limited slip differential. Unfortunately, there is no deactivation button for the system (which is why I did not order it). :disappoin To be honest, all I really want to have is just the limited slip differential. Can just this feature be special-ordered without the rest of the VSC package?

I have been driving a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited with Quadra-drive. I didn't have to worry about traction with that system, it was pretty much idiot-proof. :) This Tacoma will be my first pickup truck and would like a better understanding of what I'm getting into (driving wise). Any recommendations?

·
HANG UP AND DRIVE!!!
948 Posts