Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was thinking of changing the front brake pads, and also i have a question regarding my parking brake. It seems kind of loose? I have to pull the lever all the way up to have the car not slide down on a hill. Is there anyway to make it grab tighter and sooner? Like my friends handbrake grabs tight halfway while mine i have to pull the full way? Will replacing the brake shoes help at all? (my thoughts are it shouldnt because the self adjuster adjusts it anyways.)

Just wondering what i should be worried about and any little things i need to do regarding changing the pads?

I've never done a brake pad replacement before. As far as i know, its pretty much just removing the caliper, placing the new pads and pushing the piston back down on the caliper and then putting it back on?

My friend told me something about lubricating the slider? Wheres the slider and what should i lube it with?

·
ALSO AVAILABLE IN SOBER
7,457 Posts
The slider is basically just the portion of the caliper that allows for movement (in and out) as the pads wear. A little grease on them is a good thing. A lot of grease on them is a bad thing. Think small.

·
Registered
272 Posts
Here's two good YouTube videos (they change the rotors as well, so you can ignore that if yours are fine):

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

·
Registered
272 Posts
That looks kinda-like WD-40. You need a lubricant that withstands high temperatures. Just look for one that says Brake Lubricant or Brake Grease on the label, and there are both silicone and non-silicone formulations.

·
Registered
272 Posts
No, I'd go with something like this:

[ame]http://www.amazon.com/Permatex-20353-Ultra-Caliper-Nozzle/dp/B000HBM85C[/ame]

or this:

[ame]http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000HBGKH4[/ame]

Look for something that is not a spray can, but a solid grease in either a tube or a plastic jar, and says: