Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2006 TOYOTA AVALON XLS
604 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone in the Rust Belt should Fluid Film our cars.
Just Google it.
Ive been using the stuff for ten years and it has prevented all rust on my underbody.
The rust I have has stopped because oxygen and the elements cant get to it.

Its used mainly in farming, in Canada and on mmilitary vehicles.

Get it up on a lift and spray EVERYTHING except the exhaust. (over spray on the exhaust smokes for 5-15 minutes)

Downside? It stinks for 2-3 days until it cures into a soft wax-like substance.
Get the areosol cans at Advance Auto for $12 a can. 2 cans usually covers our cars.

Spray the bottom interior of the doors too. And dont EVER drill any holes to spray the stuff!

Respray every 2 years. I like to do it every year because IM OCD. :rolleyes:

I had one shop charge me $120 to do it. I had another shop charge me $40 to do it. It takes about 20-30 minutes.

Another downside is their shop will smell like Fluid Film for hours if not a day or two. ANd if they do body work tiny droplets will ruin a paint job if their ventilation system isnt good.

Ive had 5 cars done and it works great. Plus its cheap. Plus its enviromentally friendly.

Lastly its non-flamible. Im not a chemist but it works.

·
Registered
3,028 Posts
Another downside is it washes off of high roadspray areas, wheels wells etc and does not stick at all to body panels if needed. Does not stick on at the car wash when you gotta spray the salty slop off or use undercarriage wash, which was my first trial with FF in the spray can, it literally started flash rusting my frame in the middle of the summer after several passes!! And I sprayed that FF on thick like buttery!

For cavities and places that will not see direct washing I would give it an ok rating