Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
According to my local locksmith, my worn out 2001 key contains a "chip", that must be programmed for an additional $30.00, $67.00 total for key. Dealer is $45 + $65 to program.

However I just wrapped my good key in foil and tested it. I worked perfectly. There are no electronic contacts on these old keys.
So I'm an electronics engineer questioning if this key actually has a chip or not. I'm thinking not.

Any comments appreciated.

·
Registered
2 Posts
We got an extra key with our highlander, it fits, and turns the engine over but will not start the car, My guess is that there is a chip. We do have a 2001

·
Registered
Highlander(s)
1,005 Posts
I think it's for the ones that have the security/engine immobilizer system.

·
Registered
2004 highlander v6 and 2019 Hybrid Rav 4 xle
823 Posts
my base 04 highlander , locksmith told me same thing, but I bought a metal key from ace hardware for $2 and it works fine, so no chip

·
Registered
823 Posts
According to my local locksmith, my worn out 2001 key contains a "chip", that must be programmed for an additional $30.00, $67.00 total for key. Dealer is $45 + $65 to program.

However I just wrapped my good key in foil and tested it. I worked perfectly. There are no electronic contacts on these old keys.
So I'm an electronics engineer questioning if this key actually has a chip or not. I'm thinking not.

Any comments appreciated.

what was reason for the foil wrap?

·
Registered
2001 HL AWD V6
37 Posts
My local shop would not make a key for my 2001. Said it is the only year he cannot program. I had to go to the stealership to get the key. Mine definitely has a chip.

·
Toyota Fanatic
1,145 Posts
My local shop would not make a key for my 2001. Said it is the only year he cannot program. I had to go to the stealership to get the key. Mine definitely has a chip.