Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1988 SR5 V6 4-Runner. It has 218K miles on it. Still runs fine but I can tell the engine’s getting a bit tired. I want to start restoring it this year(new engine, suspension, paint etc.) I was wondering if any one out there has experience dropping a new / re-built engine in their first generation 4Runner. I was also curious if a larger engine (4.0L) would fit in it or if I should just stick with the same type/size of the stock engine. I am not a mechanic so I’m looking to get some information on my various options and how to go about it. I’m located in CA.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Christian

·
4RunFun
91 4Runner
13 Posts
Anyone correct me if I am wrong on this, but I believe an 88 is actually a 2nd gen. Um, Im thinking inception to 83 was first. 84 to 89 (or was it 88?) was second, 90 to 95 was third, and I think we might have quit counting from there!

Well, to the point...engines. The 3.0L V-6 has never been thought of as the power house of engines. I can't think of one occasion a Ford or Chevy owner swapped out to a Toyota V-6! From the start they were a bit gutless, yet very economical and reliable (and better than another 4 banger). So take a somewhat gutless Toyota V-6 and add over 200k miles and you have a tired gutless motor. What to do...several hundred Toyota owners ponder that very question (including myself) each day!