Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This turned into a much longer post than I originally thought - I hope it entertains some of you.

I'm new to buying used cars - very inexperienced - and I've recently made several rookie mistakes.

I was in the market for a 2010-2011 Toyota Camry and obsessively stalked Craigslist and Facebook Marketplace for a good deal on one. I found a listing that appeared to be a steal. A 2011 Toyota Camry SE with 98K miles for $4750. All the other 2011 Camrys I saw were priced at $5.5-$6k - at least here in Chicago, so I decided to jump on it. I called the guy that day and set up a viewing for the next day (Saturday).

The first red flag came when I called the guy on Saturday and he said he was sending one of his workers to meet me. Nothing too concerning, but it wasn't the guy I talked to. The second red flag was when I started asking about the history of the car and the guy had no clue what the history was - absolutely nothing - he said they got the car maybe 2 weeks prior. This is when I should have called the guy or checked the title and drilled down on questions.

I decided to test drive the car anyway see how it drove - It drove fantastic. From my point of view, I had a car with low mileage, in great shape, that drove fantastic. I told the worker that before I buy it, I wanted to have my trusted mechanic inspect it. This is where the third red flag happened. The worker was really put off by the request and he called the owner and the owner said no because of this or that, it was all BS excuses. This is where I should have walked, but from my estimation, if worse came to worse I'd had around $2 grand worth of repairs and I break even on the car.