Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I'm a newbie to your forum and I see that the people are very cool! I'm a long time lurker/first time poster and I've seen this topic being posted alot, so I figured maybe I should share what I've done to my Gen3..

My name is sepp and I work as an installer/fabricator in a local bodyshop, and we mostly customize trucks and custom audio installs. Anyways, I decided that "for my first post" I should say something different! So I will post this tutorial of "How to Shave" those emblem holes on the back of your Cam.

First, you will need a Body Filler (Bondo is widely-used) make sure to mix a proper ratio of hardener and filler (1 part to 10 part, respectively). A variety of fine-grit sandpapers, color-matched paint, clearcoat, rugs, and spatula.

Mix the hardener and body filler

Under the lid of the 3rd Gen, you'll find a hollow "location", (this is where my Dynamat Extreme was applied) Your finger should reach the holes underneath..

Now begin sanding the spot where your emblem used to be.. this will provide a good grip for the body filler. After sanding, apply a flat amount of body filler into the holes-- using your finger, try to "push back" the filler to avoid falling inside.

Then sand the body filler with your finest grit sandpaper until you don't see anymore lines...

Using your rug and (some) rubbing compound, "smoothen" the sanded spot until it's very smooth

Paint the spot with a closely-matched spray paint--- avoid overruns, and make sure the nozzle is about 12"-20" away to avoid orange peeling.
After about 30mins, apply a second coat. Another 30 minutes and apply a clear coat ONCE.

There you have it-- shaved emblems!
If I have enough time during weekends, we can even work on your Cam!
(I won't charge anything-- just wanna help fellow Cam Enthusiasts ;))
Hope I won't get flamed for posting a LONG strand. Later!

·
Registered
1,056 Posts