Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everyone,

I recently purchased an 08 Camry Hybrid , probably too quickly. I didnt realize it at. the time but they had reset the sensors so when I bought it no lights were showing.

Now 150 miles later , the brake light is on and the brakes are groaning as it's common for the ECU to konk out on the brakes letting them fail.

The VSC light , abs light and exclamation point lights are also on.

I just found out that the 2AZFE engines burn oil and need pistons replaced YET if I fill the oil too high oil may end up in the fuel injectors.

Plus there's a high possibility that my catalytic converter will or already has shit the bed as well.

I AM Not a Mechanic , I'm an audio guy ...
The only reason I bought one with 142k on the clock is because I thought it wouldn't need much work at all (and I like the body style)

But apparently there's 1 zillion problems with these things , wtf ... sigh ... ... ... I'm not good at wrenching ...

Now I am here trying to figure out of it's worth upgrading my car to keep it or if I should just do basic maintenance and sell it private or trade it in ... either way I feel like I'm screwed.

Please Help

Is there anyway to simply rip out the old outdated ECU and VSC system ?

Or do I have to use their shitty system ... there must be upgrades!?

praying to the sky that I can just rip everything out and put a new JDM engine in it with a new suspension etc ...

·
Super Moderator
1995 T100 2WD & 1993 MR2
10,861 Posts
If your unable to do the majority of the work and since your not really happy with it to begin with it'd probably make more sense to part with it now and find something you'd rather have. This sounds like a hole that needs to be climbed out of vs. continuing to dig.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I dont mind digging if I know I can get to a reward ... such as a car without constant problems.