Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
mostater
2018 Highlander
Joined
·
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone else encountered an issue with SiriusXM traffic not showing up on the nav map? It was working fine a couple of days ago but then just stopped. I am able to listen to satellite radio and I know that I'm still under contract so traffic should be working.

Related to this, does anyone know how to reset the system? I googled this issue and one suggestion was resetting the head unit. I have a 2013 TAH Limited. I thought I saw how to do this on the forum before but my search came up empty so maybe it was elsewhere.

I plan on calling SiriusXM when I can get access to my account info. In the meantime, I thought I would ask the forum. Thx!
 

·
Ken
'16 Avalon XLE hybrid
Joined
·
412 Posts
I'm not sure the traffic is tied to your Sirius subscription. When you have your nav map on do you see an orange "HDradio" sign with a picture of a couple of cars in the upper left hand corner? This would indicate that the HD radio is receiving the traffic information.
I have the '16 XLE Premium so the nav screen might be different from your '13, but if would be worth a look-see and check for the orange HD sign.
Plus if all else fails dig out the owners manual and see what it says.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
557 Posts
The 2013's came with a 3-year free subscription to XM Traffic. Maybe yours just expired. It's a separate feature from XM Radio. Mine expired in April, and traffic info just stopped showing up. It was very spotty coverage anyway, and not of any use in a world where you can get complete traffic coverage from Google on a smartphone.
 

·
mostater
2018 Highlander
Joined
·
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
My 3-year subscription had run out, but I had renewed XM NavTraffic. I called SiruisXM but noticed that it still wasn't working this morning. I'll call again...

Do the newer model years get free traffic info on their nav screens via HD radio?
 

·
Ken
'16 Avalon XLE hybrid
Joined
·
412 Posts
Yes, according to my users manual in our '16 Avalon the nav traffic comes from a HD radio signal. No mention of XM or Sirius radio being involved so it must be free.
Did they make the change in the '16 model year with the refresh? I wonder what else they changed.
 

·
mostater
2018 Highlander
Joined
·
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yes, according to my users manual in our '16 Avalon the nav traffic comes from a HD radio signal. No mention of XM or Sirius radio being involved so it must be free.
Did they make the change in the '16 model year with the refresh? I wonder what else they changed.
Nice! And I'm jealous!! :smile: I get HD radio on my 2013 but no mention about traffic that way.
 

·
Ken
'16 Avalon XLE hybrid
Joined
·
412 Posts
It is nice to have but probably not enough to cause a trade-up. If you are like me that only happens every 8 to 10 years and from what I have seen so far this one might last even last longer. We are extremely happy with this car!
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top