Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Toyota. Was given a '92 Camry 2.2 auto with 130K miles. Car received little maintenance and ran like poop. I have replaced the original plugs, cap, rotor, wires, and PCV valve. Changed the oil and had the trans fluid flushed. I removed the throttle body and cleaned it with a tooth brush and MAF cleaner. All vacuum lines appear OK. I ran a double dose of fuel injector cleaner thru the first two tanks of gas. The car runs 90% better with the throttle body cleaning seeming to make the most improvement.
The car is very sluggish when accelerating from lower RPMs, anything under about 2500. Once it starts to rev, it feels very strong and smooth and revs freely.
Finally, to my question. It seems when the car is stone cold, the first few times I take off, it feels much stronger. As soon as the temp starts coming up it gets sluggish down low. It almost feels like it's too lean. Any theories on what might be wrong? Also I average 22 mpg in mixed driving so far. Does that sound about right?
Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

·
Registered
3,243 Posts
Compression check

Can you do a compression check on the cylinders? If the previous owner didn't change the oil regularly, it could be that the cylinder walls and rings have some wear, and the cylinder compression is not up to specification.
As the engine warms up, the cylinders will actually expand a little and compression will decrease, causing a drop in combustion efficiency.

If you have a compression gauge, test initially with just the engine warmed up. Then, add a little engine oil to each cylinder as you recheck each cylinder.

Be sure and record all your pressure gauge readings, for each cylinder.
This will help with your final analysis and decisions.