Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to car maintenance. Today I tried to figure out why a speaker wasn't working in my 92' Camry. I took the doors apart and ultimately found that the wiring between my front door speaker and the cd player is bad.

I want to fix this myself. Any suggestions as to finding out either where the problem is in the line OR an explanation of running new wire.

I have a Chilton manual i've been using but it doesn't have anything good on this subject. Any help would be mucho appreciated.

Thanks.

~ G-dawg

·
TN User
95 camry
44 Posts
is it in the left door or the right door? if your sure that its not a bad connection behind the head unit then its probably between the door. on either( both) left and right kickpanels there is a little box with a bunch of wiresyou will notice that two of them run towards the door. your gonna have to cut away the tape around them and follow them through the boot of the door if they are bad you can just replace them by connecting new wires at the point of the break. but first take your headunit out and insure that all the connections are good. once you know the colors of the wires to the speaker behind the door its alot easier to find where they are connected on the headunit.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Woah. Even that explanation is a little over my head.

It's the left door (drivers door). What is the "head unit"?? What is a "kickpanel"? Also does anyone know what gauge wire that would be for the door? I think i'm gona attempt this myself, I don't wana pay stupid toyota dealer a premium dollar for that.

·
Registered
175 Posts
iamquand said:
Woah. Even that explanation is a little over my head.