Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm finally on the home-stretch for the installation into my girlfriend's 92 Camry. This is an ultra-budget system, with all brand new equipment, excluding the head unit & materials costs, coming in under $500. My goal from the start was to build the best possible $500 system I could. I chose CDT CL-61A components up front, Tangband W8-740 subs, and a Phoenix 400.4 amp to power it all. For the install, I decided to challenge myself by using materials that I haven't used before. I've used vinyl before, but this is my first time working with plexi, and will be my first time working with fiberglass besides the kick panels in my IROC. I haven't done the fiberglassing yet, but hopefully I'll get to that in coming weeks. I'm going to fiberglass the opening behind the rear seats where the baskets of the subs are visible.

Anyway, on with the stereo.

The box is a slot-ported enclosure. The way I designed the slot port, it gives me the ability to change the tuning frequency of BOTH enclosures by simply swapping out 1 piece of wood at the top of the box.

Here's the shape of the box without the back panel on it:

Here are pics of the box finished. Pay no attention to the speaker & power wire showing through the trunk arm slots. I haven't cleaned that stuff up yet because it's all coming back out to do the fiberglass work.

Up front I installed the CDT 6.5" components. The mids are in the stock door locations, and the tweeters are flushed into the kick panels. My goal up front (unlike the back) was to make it look as stock as possible so that nobody notices the stereo.