Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I did the wires at the trunk lid about a year ago in my 1999 4cyl CE Camry, but I wouldn't rule them out as not being the problem as to why my 10 AMP fuse immediately keeps blowing out as soon as I turn on the headlights. Also, when I put a fuse in there it stalls out my car and reeks all kind of havoc.

The fuse I'm talking about is the 10 amperage tail light fuse which is behind the flip out change tray inside the cabin to the lower left of the steering wheel .

I've already started to redo the wires the trunk lid with soldering to make them a little better but I'm really just poking around in the dark I'm not very good with electrical at all . I have checked all of my fuses and I'm definitely sure whatever is blowing the fuse is directly related to when I turn on the headlights .

So my question is how many ground circuits or wires are involved with my tail lights, and where are they ? please don't give me a wiring diagram, they mean nothing to me. I don't know how to read them, and I don't care to learn, I'm just looking for the long but sure way of finding where the short is, but I want to make sure that I'm checking all the right stuff..

I've checked every other fuse and all the other ones are good . if I leave the tail light fuse out I have no other problems with the car whatsoever. My brake lights will actually work, and so will my reverse lights, so it's just the tail lights in the tail light fuse itself that I'm having problem with . Thanks for anyone that has any real help they can offer to me with this problem.

·
Registered
03 CAMRY XLE
3,244 Posts