Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 169 Posts

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
EDIT DECEMBER 07 -- NOTE IF YOU READ THIS ORIGINAL THREAD, the design and fabrication processes changed. There's a lot of information here that's no longer relevant. Please refer to current threads for updated information.

I am working with my laser cutter today to find out what it will cost to laser cut the panel for the back of the tailgate and create a new steel cap for the edge. The current plan is to make the panel out of 3/16" 6061 T6 aluminum and the cap from 1/8" steel.

I'm not 100% sure of the finish yet, but the cap will require drilling a couple of holes for a strong mouting.

I expect to have prototypes in the next week or so. I haven't a clue what it will cost to produce, but will come up with some numbers after the programing is done.

Seth
(background: I am a manufacturing contractor for a company that makes off road components for Land Rovers (www.rovertym.com). I do this for a living. I also have competed professionally in rock crawling and have built a number of silly off road trucks for my own personal entertainment).

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
fpugs65 said:
How much more to anodize the aluminum? Or powder coat it? I think a flat non-metallic black would look good.
First meeting went well. I should have a price today on the assembly. The finish will definitely be powdercoat. Probably a satin black. More info to come.

Seth

·
Registered
3,355 Posts
I might be interested too. Depending on price and wife approval of course. :lol:

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Will do. The cap will add a silly amount of strength to the gate. We did some test pieces today and the current plan is to make the cap J shaped. By adding a bend around the gate by about 3/4" the strength of the piece is increased significantly.