Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I checked out the timing on my 92 camry. I am a novice. I think I did it right. Anyway, it is at 15. Do I have to short the diagnostic plug to check and where is that located?

thanks

·
Registered
11 Posts
same problem

I don't know how to check the timing but I need to know how. I also have a 92 Camry with the 2.2 and I failed my smog check because the timing was off. I've been looking around. If I find anything out I will let you know.

daddyd5150

·
Registered
65 Posts
can anybody tell me anything about timing stuff? I dont even know what it is, and what it does!!

Basically I think it could be like you set when your transmission actually shifts in terms of RPM but I guess I'm wrong so can anyone give me clues about that? How do you do that? Is it costy? What effects do you get?

thanks from a noob :p

·
Zzzz
Camry
2,255 Posts
Do a google search or search the forums. Timing is just that, it's adjusting the timing of your engine so it works in sync with itself.

To check your timing all you need is a timing light and some know-how.

·
Grenaded piston
6,594 Posts
I posted this a few days ago:

http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/t50239.html

This is what you need to do:

1. Start the engine.

2. Put in neutral. Set the e-brake.

3. Short pins (use a paperclip or a little piece of wire with the ends stripped off) TE1 & E1 on the diagnostic connector.

The diagnostic connector is a little black box attached to the drivers side strut tower.

4. Point the timing light at the crank pulley and pull the trigger on the timing light.

The timing light will flash each time cylinder #1 fires. This is if you have it hooked up to cylinder #1, which you should.

You'll see a notch on the crank pulley line up to some number on the lower timing belt cover.