Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I plan to rotate my own tires. No wheel change, no tire change, just rotation.
Do I need to do anything to make sure the TPMS sensors show correct tire positions on my dash display?

I read that the TPMS sensors will re-discover their own positions after driving for 20-30min post-rotation. But I also read that one has to buy an OBD-II TPMS reset/relearn tool to teach the ECU the new tire positions after a rotation.

·
Registered
4,065 Posts
Rotate them and see what happens. Either they will or they won't detect. You won't know til it happens. As far as I know, if yours has a display that lists each TPMS it might have to manually relearn it. If yours just has a TPMS light it should automatically relearn it.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Surely people have rotated their tires here... for a Gen7 Camry 2017 do we need a special tool for TPMS?

This is my first time rotating on my own and if I have to buy multiple tools and jacks and stands etc. it ends up not being worth it and I'll take it to a shop. That's why I ask.

·
Registered
4,065 Posts
Surely people have rotated their tires here... for a Gen7 Camry 2017 do we need a special tool for TPMS?

This is my first time rotating on my own and if I have to buy multiple tools and jacks and stands etc. it ends up not being worth it and I'll take it to a shop. That's why I ask.
Is your TPMS "smart" as in there is a display that shows each TPMS?
OR
Is your TPMS "dumb" as in there is only a TPMS light?

If it is the first, it might need to relearn. If it is the second, it might not need to relearn.

·
Registered
68 Posts

I have a 2017 and when I asked the question, here was the response. It would be nice if it were automatic and I think it is, but haven't yet tried it to prove it:

https://www.toyotanation.com/forum/310-camry-7th-generation-2012-2017/1524314-tpms-question.html