Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK. I have a 2014 Tacoma V6 with 4wd. I am NOT a mechanical idiot. I have torn engines down and rebuilt them in high school, and several motorcycles (harley/kawasaki) without too much issue.

At 30000 on the Tacoma I decided to change the oil myself for the first time, the other oil changes were at the dealership and was part of the free maintenance when I bought the truck, all at the proper mileage intervals.

I used to change my own oil on all my vehicles, up until our "Honda phase"...

Now I can actually FIND the oil filter on the Tacoma. I had read on the Internet this morning somewhere that the Tacoma V6 used 6.2 quarts of oil. so I bought six quarts of oil and a filter.

I drained the oil, very warm engine after driving home from work, replaced the filter added five full quarts of oil. started it up for a few minutes and then...

I checked the dipstick and it looks to be reading a VERY HIGH oil level about FIVE INCHES above the high mark. !!!!!!! I realize checking NEW engine oil is tricky. I checked it about six/seven times, all way to high.

So I decided to NOW check my owners manual (yeah I know I should have checked that first) it says 5.2 quarts. So I figure I too much oil.

I put the oil catcher back under the drain pan and took out the oil drain plug and let it drain some oil out, counted about 10 seconds, one one thousand, two one thousand... put the oil plug back in. wiped all of the oil off my hand and arm got up and checked the oil. STILL WAY HIGH, doesn't even look like I drained anything out.

I emptied my oil catcher pan back into my empty gallon oil jug just to see how much oil was in there. I expected it to fill the gallon jug and then fill the extra quart bottle. It barely filled the three and a half quarts of the gallon jug.