Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone...

I'm newbie here...I don't know if my car (Toyota Cresta '90 w/ 1G-GE Engine) fits in this thread or not...:confused:

I'm just wanna ask about my engine (1G-GE)...I noticed smell of gasoline that come out from exhaust,probably a too rich mixture of air fuel.

I have ask some mechanic in my town and they say maybe it come from electronic temp switch fail...so my ECU read that my engine is stiil in cool cond,even my car is in hot situation...

My question is...is it true that electronic temp switch can do such that case? Where is the position of electronic temp switch? And how to judge (messurment) that my electronic temp switch is broke or not?

Thanks before...
I'm sorry for my english that not good...:thumbsup:

·
Cressida nut
91 Pickup (Hilux)2wd
4,586 Posts
it is certainly possible that the temp switch will cause that problem. however it is not the only thing that could cause it to run rich.

I don't know exactly where it is on the 1G engine but it will most likely be on or near the thermostat housing.

how to test: this is for the supra, but the resistance should be the same. http://cygnusx1.net/Supra/Library/TSRM/MK3/manual.aspx?S=FI&P=41

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
it is certainly possible that the temp switch will cause that problem. however it is not the only thing that could cause it to run rich.

I don't know exactly where it is on the 1G engine but it will most likely be on or near the thermostat housing.

how to test: this is for the supra, but the resistance should be the same. http://cygnusx1.net/Supra/Library/TSRM/MK3/manual.aspx?S=FI&P=41
" however it is not the only thing that could cause it to run rich... "

can you explain that to me please...
thanks before...:thumbsup:

·
Cressida nut
91 Pickup (Hilux)2wd
4,586 Posts
" however it is not the only thing that could cause it to run rich... "