Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How to change O2 sensor in Toyota echo
This is my first attempt at posting a DIY. Hope it is helpful.
This DIY will provide step by step instructions to change the Oxygen Sensor located in Bank1 Sensor 2. This oxygen sensor is located behind the catalytic converter. The reason I had to change the oxygen sensor is because my check engine light was triggered. I used an OBDII scanner to scan for error codes. The code I had was PO141 which shows that the sensor is faulty. The shop manual I have for the echo states that the resistance of the Oxygen Sensor should be tested with an Ohmeter to confirm that the sensor is indeed bad. If out of tolerance the sensor can be replaced. I ordered my sensor directly from Toyota. It ran $167 after taxes. Note: There is a number stamped onto the oxygen sensor that you will need when ordering. Below are the steps I followed to test and remove the oxygen sensor.

* Before starting this project please make sure you have the following tools:
- Jack
- Jack Stands
- Flat Head Screw Driver
- 7/8” Open end wrench
- 10mm socket & wrench
- 14mm socket & wrench
- masking or electrical tape
- ohmmeter
- OBDII scan tool

-- hand tools utilized for repair. Also included in picture are the seat screws and screw covers..

1. Jack up car – this allows access to oxygen sensor
- Place jack under front jack point
- After jacking up the car, place jack stands under proper support areas
- Vehicle lift and support information can be found in shop manual on page IN-9

-- Here are the jack points from the Shop Manual
- Here are some pictures of the jack and stands under the car:

-- Jack under front jack point with block of wood to prevent marring and to give extra lift height.

-- Jack stand under front passenger side jack point.

2. Remove Front Passenger Seat – This allows carpet to be pulled back for removal of Oxygen Sensor