Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I'm a learner driver, 17 years old. The car is relatively new, 25000 miles on the clock. When out on a lesson a week ago, I was changing down from third to second gear as I have done many times before - I'm not completely new and have had a fair few lessons - the clutch was in throughout. There was a minor judder in the stick that I felt, and a loud crunching noise. My instructor [mum!] told me to stop.. which I did so, and then upon trying to continue there was a clicking noise that was evident as soon as the car was in any gear.

We have had the car recovered and taken to the Toyota official dealer, in the hope to fix it, assuming the gear box has been knackered. However.. the car is quite new, and they have just got back to us today and said that the second gear has had "all the teeth stripped off it" and hence a new second gear will need to be rebuilt in the gearbox and the whole thing fixed up. Its going to be an expensive job.

My question is more to do with what I could have done to strip the second gear. We were in a car park, I was doing 12mph and was changing from thrid to second. The clutch was definitely in, so I really don't get what I could have done. I'm just more concerned about the future and it happening again if I don't know. Is there something obvious that I probably did to cause it? Or could it be a sign of previous wear and I just happened to be driving? Either way, I thought toyotas were supposed to be very reliable, so I am a little concerned. :confused:

Thanks in advance
-Ian

·
Gen 4 XLE v6
02 Toy Solara V6 MT
3,192 Posts
There are lemons in every manufacturer. May be its not you and its your mom! :dunno: I'd say ensure you and you mom know how to drive a stick. And if you all do know...then it could be a lemon defect in the car!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·