Toyota Nation Forum banner

61 - 80 of 484 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
115 Posts
Canadian TCHs did not have TPMS. I don't know if current models have it here, but even my '09 does not have it.

I have never perused it to see if the ECU would have the programming and how much it would cost to get the monitors and the reset button installed. I suspect the price is way more than I would be willing to pay for it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Tire Warning Button/System?

Can anyone help. My owners manual talks about some kind of tire low pressure warning system with a reset button on the passenger sice of the center console. My car does not have the button. A friend said my 2010 Camry Hybrid does have some kind of system related to the valve stem. Can anyone explain this to me; what if I want aftermarket wheels? Help!
 

·
Need For Speed
2011 Camry SE
Joined
·
10,765 Posts
If you want aftermarket wheels you can generally swap over your sensors, otherwise the tire light on the dash will stay illuminated. For a TPMS reset button, check under the dash and in the glove box.

If you look at your valve stem, you will see that it's a silver metal, and hard, as opposed to a black rubber stem that's flexible. All newer cars have this system, although some use "band" sensors, so they still have the black rubber stem.
 

·
Officially Opinionated
Joined
·
44 Posts
Open the glove box. There's a button on the left side (not inside the glove box) that can only be seen if the glove box is open.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
How does something in the valve stem send a signal to a light on the dash? I'll look for the button in the morning, but don't think it is there, just a hole.
 

·
Need For Speed
2011 Camry SE
Joined
·
10,765 Posts
There's a sensor attatched to the valve stem. You can't see it because it's sitting on the rim, hidden by the tire. The sensor sends signals wirelessly to the computer to either tell it to leave the light off or turn it on.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
OK, thanks guys. I found the button inside the glove box. had me fooled because there is an empty square hole also inside the glove box on the left side.

So if I understand it. I can use aftermarket wheels if I decide I want too; just have to use the toyota valve stems.
 

·
Need For Speed
2011 Camry SE
Joined
·
10,765 Posts
Basically, yes. Just make sure they're compatible, some aftermarket wheels won't allow the sensors/valve stem to fit properly. Most should be fine, however :thumbsup:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
TCH 2012 aftermarket TPMS supported?

OK, I finaly made the jump to TCH 2012, signed, sealed but NOT YET delivered (should have it tuesday or wednesday nite :rolleyes: )

It is a TCH XLE Groupe B (Canada accessory package with sunroof and other toys), but it does not come with TPMS (Tire Pressure Monitoring System) but I think the on board display (with navigation and rear backup camera (not the JBL!)) might have the possibility to display TPMS data?

Did anyone add TPMS to TCH XLE Group B out there...

can anyone suggest a good (cheap ;)) TPMS aftermarket supplier that would be compatible with my onboard display...

I am HOPING to be able to display individual tire pressure directly on my display :facepalm:... hoping!

thanks for the help...

Richard ve2dx
 

·
New in OK
Joined
·
10 Posts
Low pressure monitor

When test driving a 2012 XLE, I thought I saw all four tire pressures displayed. I know of the display that tells you have a low tire, but this was one of all four tires.

I have checked the books and can't find it and I have tried the displays and can't find it!

Did I just dream this or is there a way to get to a screen like that?

I did buy a 2012 XLE, just don't drive it often enough to have found all the little things about it.

Thanks

Jim
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
60 Posts
On mine with the Display Audio with Entune, all I have to do is click the "Car" button on the right side of the touchscreen (physical button, not a touchscreen button), and then there are 2 buttons: "Fuel Consumption" and "Tire Pressure". Press "Tire Pressure" and that brings me to the screen I think you are referring to.
 

·
Registered
2012 Camry Hybrid
Joined
·
1,442 Posts
Just got my new XLE hybrid a few days ago. I got the 7" navigation. When I press the tire pressure if the engine is started it gives the actual pressures per tire. Can't tell which tire due to each tire sensor being moved front to rear during tire balance and rotation. In time we may be able to tell which is right from left side tires.

Now we can look for any low tires that could overheat and puts lots of wear on a tire. Easy to tell if the tire is low up front, but hard to tell a low rear tire other than the car slows a lot more when coasting. Their is a also the same low tire alert in the instrument cluster. (!)
 

·
New in OK
Joined
·
10 Posts
That's it!

On mine with the Display Audio with Entune, all I have to do is click the "Car" button on the right side of the touchscreen (physical button, not a touchscreen button), and then there are 2 buttons: "Fuel Consumption" and "Tire Pressure". Press "Tire Pressure" and that brings me to the screen I think you are referring to.
Thanks a lot, that's what I was looking for. I do appreciate your info.

Jim
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
tire pressure indicator light

My tire pressure indicator light is still displayed after filling my tires and spare. How do I reset it (turn if off)?
 

·
Registered
2012 Camry Hybrid
Joined
·
1,442 Posts
My tire pressure indicator light is still displayed after filling my tires and spare. How do I reset it (turn if off)?
Turn the Power switch (button) to ON.

The tire pressure reset button can be seen to the left once you open the glove-box.

Press and hold the tire pressure warning reset button until the tire pressure warning light blinks 3 times.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
My light is still on. This is what I did: 1) turned on the ignition (light immediately began to blink), 2) held reset button for at least 3 blinks.
Do I need to push and hold the reset button before turning on the ignition? Is there a way to disengage and then re-engage the sensor?
Thanks.
 

·
Registered
2012 Camry Hybrid
Joined
·
1,442 Posts
No, the book says, do this with the car stopped, your tires should be cool, turn on the power button (no-brake), then press and hold the button reset switch (glove box) until the tire pressure warning light blinks slowly 3 times. If this don't work I would take the car to your dealer.

You might recheck each of your tire pressures when they are cold just to make sure they are similar. The toyota dealer should have the device that test the sensors to make sure they are ok. TPMS senders can be damaged by tire shops or can have a low battery if the car is 5 years or older. The newer cars, sender batteries last more like 8 years or longer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
I would get the pressures checked one more time. I had that issue a couple weekends ago, and thought my tire pressure was fine, however a quick stop to the dealer revealed the front passenger side tire was low, and that was that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Since my car is 5 years old, I'm thinking one of my sensor batteries may need to be replaced. Can I do this myself? If so, how? Thanks.
 
61 - 80 of 484 Posts
Top