Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
03 Toyota Highlander
1,672 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well after the first thread about my tranny and some suggestions, I've decided to change the tranny fluid in my car and see how it goes. Since I'm relatively new to this, I'm wondering what I should prepare for this.

I'll be getting 2 jackstands to hold up the front, what kind of tools do I need?
Which fluid and which brand should I get?
Where is the drain for tranny fluid?

If I can, I was wondering if I can change the diff fluid by myself? or is it the same thing? As I said I'm pretty new to this.

Thanks for any help!

·
I HAS BOOST!!!
94 Camry SE V6 Coup
10,728 Posts
u should get a hanes manual or somthin like that. it goes into detail about doing stuff like that. if u drive kinda hard, royal purple has a higher performance tranny fluid but it usually runs the tranny a little hotter so its recomended that u get a tranny cooler too.

·
Registered
03 Toyota Highlander
1,672 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Where can I get a hanes manual, or something like that? Ebay?

I do drive my car hard sometimes, how does this tranny cooler thing work and where does it go?

·
Registered
98 Camry XLE V6
3,116 Posts
nah thats just too extravagant.

haynes manuals can be found online/ebay or at many local autoshops.

fluid is listed in your manual as well as on the tranny dipstick.
dexron III i think..
if you worried about driving hard or whatever, you can get synthetic dexronIII fluid...but its really unecessary and its not the cheapest stuff on earth.
the drain plug is a hex type plug. its towards the driver side, around where the oil pan is.

i think you change the diff and tranny fluid in one shot (i'm not sure), but thats what ive been told for my gen 4. I think a drain and fill was 4.5 quarts...although i've forgotten since i've last done it.

Let it drain for as long as you can. Go watch an hour of tv or something.