Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Super Moderator
2006 Corolla XRS
8,781 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to be doing a power steering fluid flush as preventative maintenance. I've gone through the DIY.

This is my first time doing this, and want to make sure I am using the correct compatible fluid.

The packaging label says it's compabitble for select import vehicles before 2006.

On the rear label, it doesn't list Toyota. My Corolla is 2006. Again, just making sure I am good to go with this fluid.

·
Various Toyotas
5,009 Posts
I would use a fluid spec'd for T-IV. That being said, there are those who think that T-WS is backwards compatible and that you can use that as well. Valvoline Max-Life Synthetic is spec'd for both.

Here is what's spec'd for the Gen 9 Corolla: EDIT: It's spec'd for T-II or T-III, so what you have in that blue bottle is perfectly fine and to spec, but T-IV is still what I would use since it's an improvement. Even T-WS.

Doing a power steering flush on this system often results in the power steering reservoir U-hose leaking. I would at least try to use fuel injection hose clamps instead of the stock clamps that come with the U-hose. I can't remember the size of the fuel injection clamp, but I remember it was the biggest one that Napa parts store had and it just barely fit. If your fuel injection hose clamps don't stop it from leaking, you'll need to get a replacement U-hose from either the Mitsubishi or Dodge dealer. Just go with whichever one is cheaper and/or closer to you.

Here's my Corolla with fuel injection clamps on the new Mitsubishi U-hose:

I replaced the hose and the clamps at the same time, so I don't know if it was the clamps or the hose that stopped the leak. Here's the hose in case you need it:

Reactions: 75aces

·
Registered
67 Posts
I use the toyota ATF DEX III for power steering.