Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 20 of 114 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After about 9k miles my 2021 Highlander Platinum AWD started to shake when braking from 60-65mph. At the 10k courtesy service I asked Toyota Northridge CA to check it up.
I got a call back, they confirmed the problem and claimed is was due to my excessive driving! They have checked the computer and it reads several “Accelerator signal and brake signal input simultaneously”.
So they refuse to accept my claim within the warranty and asked $950 to get the work done.
I objected, I never push the brake and gas pedal at the same time, I'm a driver of profession and know how to drive.
When picking up the car I asked for the computer printout. See attachment with the six green highlighted lines. They explained Elapsed time H:M:S. So according to the report the two signals has been activated between 42.9 sec – 1h 56 min 46.9 sec! The longest almost 2h is event #5.
I asked if the really believe anyone would be able the push gas and brake pedals at the same time for 2 hours! Answer – This is what we read.
May 7, 5:26PM I was on the freeway 14/395 from LA to Mammoth Lakes. So I believe there must be something wrong either with the brakes or a sensor.
Before I contact Toyota I would to hear if anyone else have the same issue?
Any idea what might be the problem?
I have also attached the notes made by Toyota Northridge

Attachments

·
Registered
8 Posts
No but that’s really strange. Looks like your brake discs are warped due to heat and excessive braking. Could it be that some kind of calibration on the brake wasn’t done right, causing the car to brake? And how about cruise control… I didn’t properly look at your files but if this is true you must have had problems with cruise control disengaging IF you were braking all the time.

·
Registered
2020 Highlander Platinum - Moon Dust
514 Posts