Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
290 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey all.
I haven't been on here in a while but have been doing a lot of research on bike carbs and Webers etc.
went to a place called weber specialties about half an hour away from my house to have a look around the place and let the guy have a look at what he could do with my engine.

He looked at twin side drafts and a down draft when he told me the price i almost went into shock. 3000 bucks just to get twin side drafts a manifold and installation. Im only a high school student, no wonder i just about comatosed.

A friend of mine while i was on Facebook chatted away about carbs etc and sent me a link showing 4 Yamaha R1 bike carbs and that got me thinking i could get his fabricator to make me an inlet manifold for the carbs i could get them bolted on and tune them and have an engine that would put out just as much power as it would with Webers.

Sorry bout the long post but thought i would share my thoughts and would really like to hear responses to this. I have already looked into the archives but i am wanting fresh views and things change over the years so it would be good to know what people think. :thumbsup:
Cheers Greg

·
Resident asshole
Corolla
9,552 Posts
3000 bucks just to get twin side drafts a manifold and installation.
Holy shit. I got my twin webers for 150euros + 170euros for a manifold. :p I did the linkage myself and installation, but still 3000 is shitload for them, unless they were brand new out of the box carbs.

As for bike carbs, I had keihin CVK carbs on my bike, I had problems passing emissions testing with them, otherwise they were fine... Hard to tune when the float bowls are on the bottom side of the carb, very had access. lol. Eventually I ditched the keihins for the webers and passed emissions in one shot.

How bout using CBR/hayabusa throttle bodies and a stand alone ECU.

·
Registered
290 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·