Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. Hope you can help answer a question from a complete novice!

A friend with a 2000 Toyota Corolla, 93,000 miles, had engine trouble while far out of state. A mechanic towed the vehicle, said it needed a new engine, and quoted $2,500, which she paid. Four months later, with the engine knocking, her local mechanic replaced the power steering pump and said the engine was never replaced (VIN numbers matched.)

The out-of-state mechanic now claims he ordered a salvage engine, determined it was in poor condition when it arrived, and so instead "fixed" the bearings to get her on her way. Said it was a miscommunication and has offered to return $1,000.

Separate from whether this guy should be strung up, my question is this: Is there a way for either a layman or a mechanic to determine -- without taking the engine apart -- whether the bearings were in fact replaced?

Thanks!

·
4 Wheels of Fury
2005 Toyota Tacoma
49 Posts
Well... a vehicle has a variety of bearings so the first thing to do is determine which ones he is refering to.

Camshaft bearings: Hold the camshaft in place and allow it to rotate smoothly. The lobes of the camshaft are what cause your valves to open/close and engages your injectors.

Connecting Rod bearings: These are what connect your pistons to your crankshaft. They allow the rod to rotate freely as the crankshaft turns and either pulls or pushes your pistons up and down.

Main bearings: These are what allow the crankshaft to rotate smoothly and are connected to the actual engine block.

And then there are also bearings in your transmission which I'm not that knowledgeable on :sorry: but someone else should be able to explain.