Toyota Nation Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
First off hi. My name is Greg and I own a blue 09 S. I was an engineer at a Toyota NAMC for 3.5 years and currently work for a core autoparts manufacturer within Toyota Motor Corp.

I have searched the posts, which does not mean I might have overlooked, for 2 issues.

It is very windy here and one day at a stop light I heard a whistling sound. The source is from the back of the car maybe the taillights. Has anyone else heard this? It has occurred several times. No way am I taking it back to the dealer. I was in the interior group and past experience is repair at dealers can lead to other issues unless the details/location have been pinpointed. It is almost impossible for the dealer to verify a repair for something like noise. Especially if only occurring at certain conditions.

Why do my rims have an infinity symbol on the center? Another engineer at work has an older Camry w/ the same symbol. Is it possible to replace with Toyota symbol? I have not taken the rims off to look.

Thanks!

Greg

·
Registered
09 Corolla Matrix
665 Posts
I think there are some post somewhere about wind noise at the back. I think the dude pulled down the head liner or trim from the hatch and used some soundproofing on it, or it might just have been the window trims causing it.

Regarding the infinity symbol. I think you will find that you have alloy wheels made by Enkei yes? that's their symbol..... :welcome:

http://www.enkei.com/

Also check out this thread for info on wind noise:
http://matrixowners.com/?showtopic=76428

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think there are some post somewhere about wind noise at the back. I think the dude pulled down the head liner or trim from the hatch and used some soundproofing on it, or it might just have been the window trims causing it.