Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It got really cold yesterday down in the teens and I had somewhere to go about 5 PM. I backed the old Toyota out and started down our very bumpy street and the rear suspension is solid! No shock absorbing, I mean none at all. I only had a 3 mile trip so I drove slow and thought maybe it would get better, it didn't. I've been driving for over 50 years and have had broken shocks, springs, worn out shocks etc. but nothing like this. It's supposed to warm up above freezing today and I'll try it again. Later I'll get under the car and see what the matter can be, the car sets normal so I suppose a shock or suspension part froze somehow but damned if I know how that can be. If it is a shock no big deal replacing it. The springs should be in good shape and it will probably boil down to replacing the shock only or going with a new spring/strut assembly. From what little driving I did it seems to be the left rear causing the problem.
More later when I get to the bottom of this really strange occurrence.

·
Registered
1,306 Posts
Shocks wear out completely, then get water in them and it freezes. While not typical here in Virginia, very common in colder climates. Replace the shocks, or remove them as a diagnostic process, but they are really the only possible cause.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
1998 Camry CE ... 123K miles gotta be the original shocks, maybe also the original brake pads, the car had something like 55K on it when I bought it 18 years ago. We never got much above freezing here yesterday and I took the car to get some groceries ... still the same. Pushed down on the back left fender and no give, the right back fender the car moves like it should. Rock Auto has some OE closeouts and that ought to be plenty good for the old Toyota and the way I drive. total $ 36.13

·
Registered
6,083 Posts