Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I am a newbie to this forum (been on MatrixOwners.com since 2003, selling my Matrix to my daughter now). Just signed up today, although I have been a Toyota owner for my entire driving history (my first car was a 1972 Toyota Corolla 2 door). I am putting in an order next month for a 2007 Camry SE in Barcelona red with all options except Navi.

The question I have is does anyone know where and how the dealership mounts the XM antenna when one purchases the Toyota dealer installed XM radio option? Does the XM radio use the same integrated rear window antenna? Or is there a separate XM antenna they install? Anyone have pictures of their antenna installation?

·
Registered
'07 XLE 4 cyl.
6,123 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the rapid reply njerald and for your patience.

Anyone have any fotos they can share of the antenna mount locations?

·
Registered
73 Posts
The XM antenna is mounted inside the vehicle on the package shelf at the lower center of the rear window. It's a 1" square black box that's about 1/4" high. I have one, and the reception seems to work fine, despite the fact that the antenna is inside the vehicle.

As the previous poster said, the OEM XM tuner is only compatible with the JBL-branded head units. So, if you have the low-end stereo, it won't be compatible, and you'll need to get a third-party solution (e.g., something that plugs into the AUX jack of your car).

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for the replys guys. However, I am concerned with mounting the XM antenna "upside doewn" as suggested in the 'behind the rear view mirror' suggestion from 2007CamryXLE. Should I be that concerned about it?