Toyota Nation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for a reliable (#1) back-up car with good mileage (#2).

I'm new to this part of the forum and wanted your advice on selecting a 1995-2001 Camry.

Looking through craigslist, I see a lot more Gen 3/4 Camrys with > 200k miles on the odometer compared to similar vintage Corollas. What do you think of that?

Suggestions about mileage, features, common problems, etc would be great.

I read that 1995-2001 5S-FE get 23-28 mpg, while the 1MZ-FE get 17-25 mpg. The Corollas get a bit better mileage.

I drive about 5,000 miles per year, primarily in the city and have a one-person business of buying and selling furniture and other small-medium size items weighing no more than 70 lbs. Specifically, I've been happy with 4 cylinders (I can't recall the last time I had a V-6). I also don't need rapid acceleration (0-60 in 3 seconds, LOL) or towing capabilities (the largest item I ever hauled was a 200 lb tool chest, but that was a one-time situation). With those mileage ratings and gas at $3 per gallon, I don't see a large difference in my gas bill, but I wanted to hear your real-world experiences with this era's mileage.

A wagon would be great, but I've gotten by with sedans. I notice that there are on occaions Camry wagons that all seem to be V-6s. Does that sound right?

Thanks in advance!

·
short-throw dipstick
6,104 Posts
- just about as bulletproof as they come
- do some research on the few problems that aren't age-related, but expect the V6 to have sludging issues if you don't change oil on time, don't use high-quality oil and filter, or don't let the car warm up properly
- IME gen3 5S-FE get somewhat worse fuel economy than gen4
- that being said, I get 23 combined in my '00 5S-FE, and 21 combined in my '99 1MZ-FE
- wagons rare but cool (IMO)